Box It Up

During the summer between middle school and high school, I had the genius idea to create a memory box of all things that were important to me at the time. I sealed it up and stuffed it away so I could open it when I graduated. Every so often throughout high school I would think about it, although I never remembered what I put in it. Now, a week after graduation, I finally opened it.


I have been imagining the sentimental moment I would have with this time capsul upon opening since I made it four years ago. I don’t know what made me think this would be some amazing moment because unfortunatly, I was very disappointed with the contents.

Laying on top was a giant poster of Liam Hemsworth and Josh Hutcherson, followed by a roller coaster magnet, a plastic shark toy, my old cell phone, some very questionable old lotion (???), some pictures of my middle school friends, a Hunger Games rubber bracelet, and a book with a bookmark in it leading me to believe that I wasn’t finished reading it. The assortment was extremely random and it sucks that I waited four years for this, but I’m totally allowed to complain because middle school Lena had some strange ideas.


I understand that a person can change alot in four years, and I’m so glad I’m not the same awkward middle schooler that I used to be. (Although now I’m just a slightly older, still super awkward teenager.) Yet the contents of this box only told me about what was popular at the time, and didnt really tell me anything about myself. Oh well, I guess you can’t blame thirteen year old me for trying!

Maybe now that I’ve learned from this mistake, I’ll try to make a new one to open when I graduate college. Who knows how much I’ll change in another four years?

-me

Leave a Reply

