You Don’t Even Know…

…how lucky I am.

I had to wait a full seven days to post this because even a week later, and I still haven’t properly processed this indescribable night.


I woke up last Thursday morning expecting to go to a chill lowkey concert with my best friend and I fell asleep Thursday night with my heart rushing after having the best experience of my life.

I am a strong believer in putting money towards experiences rather than objects, so anytime a band that I enjoy listening to comes to Pittsburgh, I am more than happy to splurge on concert tickets.

Let me start out by explaining how underrated Fitz & the Tantrums are. They are one of the most unique, uplifting, and positive bands of our generation and everyone needs to take a second and listen to more than what is just on the radio. I’ve been listening to them for about three or four years and after missing out on their concert when they came two years ago, I knew I needed to go to this one.


My initial thought was that this would be a good concert to just chill in the lawn and not worry about the stress of the GA pit. Yet the more I thought about it, the more I realized how easy it would be to get good spots for this concert.

Like I said before, they don’t have a huge following and we were able to use that to our advantage for an unforgettable night. So we decided to take our chances and get in line at noon the day of the concert. We weren’t sure what to expect, but when we got there and claimed our spots as second in line, a huge wave of relief washed over us. The only two people in front of us had been waiting since ten in the morning and were some of the sweetest kids we met. We instantly became friends and bonded over good music and it made the six hour wait so much more bareable.


Later on two more of their friends joined us and it was another instant connection. After sharing stories, food, and social media platforms, the excitement of sharing the front row with them grew.


A particular story I told happened to be the backstory of my personal good luck charm and that day it struck again.

After five hours of listening to F&tT soundcheck, a tour manager came out to the evergrowing line and asked who was first in line. We jumped up with enthusiam befor realizing that we were actually second (#awkward) but socializing clearly has its benefits because our new friends said the six of us were together (!!!). The tour manager then proceded to hand out meet and greet wristbands to all of us and I don’t know if you’ve ever seen six seventeen year olds happier in their entire lives.

Not only did we get to meet some of the most chill band members ever, but we also got to wait in the A/C for a half and hour on a 90° day so im not quite sure what we were happier about to be quite honest.


Meeting them was so much fun. I’ve personally never met anyone famous so this was definitely a huge deal for me but it was strange to think that they are just people like you and me. Michael and Noelle, the two lead singers were so funny and we were just able to goof around with them before heading back out to wait in the dreaded heat.

Luckily after the meet & greet we were able to float on our personal cloud 9’s back to our spots at the front of the line. Gates opened and we were the first ones in. We totally didn’t run to our spots in the front row because running in Stage AE is illegal but we walked with haste and the six of us scattered amongst the barricade securing front and center spots perfect for dancing the night away.


The venue filled up. Baby Fitz ran on to the stage. We made friends with the security guard. Drank some hose flavored water. Witnessed Zella Day (the opening act) flail around on stage. Got caught in the rain.

Lol. The rain. No big deal at all. Except for the fact that it freaking poured for twenty minutes straight in between acts and it was probably the greatest thing ever. We were mixed with both the fear of the show getting cancelled and the fear that our cell phones were destroyed. Yet once that fear washed over us, we let loose and began dancing and didn’t stop until the sun came up the next morning.

After a half an hour delay (thanks rain), F&tT finally came on and BLEW OUR TIRED LITTLE MINDS. Let me tell you, this band knows how to get the crowd to party. Not a soul in the venue remained still. Everyone was dancing and clapping and singing and having the time of their lives.


The lights were hypontizing, the music was booming, and the energy was out of this world. Both Micheal and Noelle are amazing performers and as an audience member I could truley feel their passion for being on stage and entertaining. I can’t say it enough but it was seriously the most fun I’ve ever had at a concert and I’m still in shock that last Thursday even happened.


Like I said earlier, Fitz doesn’t have a huge following, which sucks because they deserve it. But in that moment, everyone became a fan and let loose.


It was one of the greatest concert experiences of my short little 18 year long life, and I’m not sure how anything will top that. I’ve been to a ton of concerts and I’ll go to a ton more. Each one has been special in their own way and I will never forget how amazing it was to just forget everything and dance.

Fitz, I love you, and I can’t wait to see you again in November. (That’s right! Going to school in Orlando has it’s perks and by perks I mean seeing a great band at a new great venue with some new great friends!!)


Thanks for rolling up into my heart Fitz. You don’t even know how much you jut changed my life. You shine like diamonds in my eyes and you are more than just a dream to me <3.

-me

2 thoughts on “You Don’t Even Know…

Leave a Reply

