I’m Not Dead, I’m In Florida (Basically the Same Thing)

So I’ve been in Florida for a week and I have yet to be eaten by an alligator. What an acomplishment. Although I didn’t run into any scaled, green, four legged friends yet, I have had an amazingly hectic past couple of days that deserve to be perserved forever in the form of a blog post. So here we go.

This past week has been a rollercoaster of emotions as I moved away from my best friends, said goodbye to my family, and have been exposed to new and exciting adventures. The sixteen hour drive from Pittsburgh to Orlando was not nearly as awful as I imagined, and we were able to see way too many tourist traps than I would have ever expected. (The cheesier the better, amiright?)

Once we got to my new home, it was amazing to drive around the area that I will be getting lost in for the next 8 months. Florida is a treasure, let me tell you. The people are strange but the beauty is undeniable. But so am I (hah). I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

As I started my experience on campus, I was able to expose my crazy self to all sorts of different people and activities. Although I wasn’t in my comfort zone 24/7, it gave me alot of new opportunities to create some great memories.


Moving in to my new apartment was very stressful, but the outcome was and is amazing. My dorm room turned out super cute and I never want to leave it. (Don’t worry Mom & Dad, I promise I’ll go to class.) I love my roommates and we are starting to make new friends in our building thanks to our genius white board hanging on our door. One is even from Pittsburgh, (it’s a small world after all.)


I have also met up with a ton of other Hospitality majors and I’m sorry but they are definitely this nicest people you’ll ever meet. The hospitality lable is true and these people are already killing the game.

UCF’s welcome week has also been a blast so far. It started on Saturday and will run all week long and it’s full of free stuff and free food, so how could you go wrong? I made a promise to myself that I wouldn’t be “too cool” to skip anything and it’s been paying off. Last night we got three free t-shirts, free smoothies, free henna, and there were a significant amount of moonbounces around campus. Then we went to Target at midnight and it was filled with only UCF students and I’ve never seen so many people in one place at the same time. What an adventure.


Today I was able to meet up with more friends I have been communicating with and some of their high school friends and it was a blast. We signed up for a ton of clubs and I lost my Menchie’s virginity (which is aparently a big deal around here).


I’m still getting used to how things work in the south, but so far so good. 

This week is going to be a busy one with classes starting on Monday along with all the other welcome week activities. But busy weeks are my favorite weeks and I’m super excited to jump into my college experience. 


I’m not sure how often I will be blogging, but when the creative juices are flowing, I will be writing. I was also accepted for a position to write for HerCampusUCF so some of my more school related/serious topics will be posted on there. I’m so excited to meet the rest of the staff and start writing with these girls!

Thanks for bearing with me on this quick lil, boring lil,life update, but it’s always a good idea to update my fans so they know I’m not dead. Love you all, *kiss kiss hug hug*.

Thank you all for following me on my journey. I know this is going to be a wild one. Wish me luck!

-me

2 thoughts on “I’m Not Dead, I’m In Florida (Basically the Same Thing)

Leave a Reply

