Pro Sports Fan??

Wow you all probably though I was dead, which is understandable due to my lack of blogging. Yet I feel like I make this “sorry I’ve been MIA” statement every month or so, so I’m surprised you haven’t caught on to my laziness by now. And by laziness, I actually mean the complete opposite. I have been a busy little bee down here in Orlando with my second semester in full swing. With lots of classes, club, and volunteer opportunities, it’s not always easy to find the time to update all my fans, yet I’m doing so many exciting things that I want to share. So you see my predicament. Yet I have come to the conclusion that writing every once and a while is better than not writing at all, so I apologize to those of you who are as impatient as me and I will try harder to ย be more exciting.

One of the most exciting things about living in Orlando, “The City Beautiful”, is that it is the number one location for meetings, events, expositions, and conventions in the country. (I learned that in my Events class to prove to you that I actually do attend school and don’t spend all my time with Mickey Mouse). With such a booming city with event happening out of the wazoo, volunteers are always in high demand. And what’s better than a perky college kid looking for experience and free things? (Probably a lot, but for the sake of this article, let’s pretend there’s nothing better!) Lucky for me, I AM a perky college kid looking for experience and free things so volunteering has been one of my favorite past times recently.

img_2485

Events that I have volunteered with in the past have ranged in all shapes and sizes, yet this past weekend, I had the opportunity to volunteer for one of the larger events of the year. The 2017 Pro Bowl took place in Orlando this past Sunday, and the whole week leading up to it, various organizations were looking for volunteers for the crazy amount of events happening around town. As the true Disney nerd I am, I chose to volunteer at ESPN Wide World of Sports, the facility located on property. They hosted most of the events that week from tournaments to practice fields for all of the players.

You might be wondering why on earth I decided to get involved with sports, and I totally understand. I was confused at first too. But rewards are large in a the hospitality industry and a ticket to the big game was well worth the couple hours I dedicated to helping out.

I spent last Friday quickly learning the art of flag football and score keeping for the national tournament that kids have been practicing all season for. Huge responsibility for someone who doesn’t understand the game, but I quickly picked it up and killed my job. Always produce perfection, especially when a free shirt, food, and Pro Bowl tickets are on the line.

The kids were excited to be there and the parents were constantly fighting the refs. What’s not to love about little league football? It was a really cool experience, and any sports fan would have probably appreciated it way more than I did, but I still had a ton of fun. All of the pros were there meeting the kids and watching the games, and the environment was really upbeat, despite the freezing 50 degree weather.

Overall I had an amazing time, and going to the game on Sunday was an amazing reward. Sports fans flocked Camping World Stadium to cheer on their team. With my newfound knowledge of the sport, I was able to understand and enjoy the game before going on a forty minute adventure to find chicken nuggets. Although the search was a bust, the night ended well with a win from the AFC (go Steelers!) and a lot of fun with friends.

Shout out to the hospitality industry for giving me an excuse to go out and try new things. The experiences are always memorable and the rewards are worth it! Now if only I could get a car so I can stop relying on my friends to sign up for the same things as me…
Baby steps.

Until next time

xoxo,

Leave a Reply

