Dad Gets Knighted

I love my school with all my heart and I wouldn’t trade going here for anything in the world. Yet one of the not so great things about living so far from home is a lack of visitation from friends and family, which sucks because I just want to show off my favorite place to everyone important to me. So when my dad came to visit my home away from home, I made sure to show him as much as I could so he could truly experience what being a knight feels like.

We started out the weekend right, by properly feeding my poor college student stomach. We went to one of my favorite sushi places located in Winter Park and enjoyed soooo much sushi that I was eating leftovers for days. After grabbing food, I showed him around the town of Winter Park and we stopped in some of the cute shops and park. We cut the evening short so that we could get some rest.

The next morning,  we met up with my uncle and cousin and attend service at their church, followed by a hearty brunch at Sweet Tomatoes, a healthy buffet located in Alamonte Springs. Afterwards, my dad and I headed back to campus so I could give him a proper tour of where I run around all day.

We then met up with my boyfriend, Josh, for a proper introduction and a quick adventure. My favorite thing about traveling is seeing different downtown areas, so I couldn’t wait to show my dad Orlando’s. The city surrounds a lake, and to our luck, a food and wine festival was occurring so it was bustling as ever. We parked and walked around, taking in all the sights and sounds (and desperately avoiding all the evil swans). After exploring, we headed back to campus to get some over-sized pizza from Lazy Moon and hit the hay.

Monday morning, bright and early, we headed out to spend a day in Magic Kingdom! We set a goal to ride and see as much as possible, and I’m confidant that we were able to achieve that. We started the day off with all the thrill rides, followed by an amazing lunch  of fried shrimp and LeFou’s brew. I showed him around New Fantasyland, an addition to the pars since his last visit, and he even got to meet Princess Belle and serve as her royal knight.

Although it was insanely hot, we survived and made it all day long. We were even able to watch Wishes! fireworks from our spot in line for Mine Train. We ended the night strong with one last castle selfie and Mickey Ice Cream bar before taking the ferry boat back to our car.

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset

On our last day on Tuesday, we were able to finish up some grocery shopping, as well as grab a delicious bite to eat at Zaza’s Cuban Bistro. I had an amazing time showing my dad around the school I fought so hard to go to, and I hope he caught a glimpse of why I love Orlando so much! Keely will be coming down at the end of this month, so I guess that means my mom and pup Crosby will have to visit me at Disney next fall!

xoxo,

 

Leave a Reply

