May’s High Five

Every month we step into a new body as we discover new things that make us happy. Sure, it might not be a flip of the switch on the the first day of each month, but it’s no secret that our interests are constantly changing.

So I introduce to you, my new monthly segment about things that made me smile the past thirty-or-so days, and put me at an all time high of happiness. Hopefully some of you can relate, or explore some of my favorites!

Here are five different categories that might stick in stone, or fluctuate throughout time, depending on what life brings me. I hope these open the doors for you to try new things!

Music/Movies/Television

Okay okay, feel free to chastise me on this all you want, but I recently started binging Glee on Netflix and it is so much better than I expected it to be. Trust me, I make fun of myself every time I talk to my friends about it, but the music is always amazing, the story lines really dig deep and hit a lot of important topics, and the high school drama is always fun to watch unfold in front of you. If you’re looking for a new show and never saw it when it originally aired, I highly recommend it! It will bring back all those late 00s feels.

Social Media

So I recently decided to emerge myself in the Disney community even deeper than I was before, and I followed a ton of accounts on Instagram that really embody the spirit of the parks. Plus, filling my feed with pictures of WDW really cures the void in my heart from not being there all summer long. Here are five accounts that really stuck out to me. Some of them are super aesthetically pleasing, some of them create some amazing merchandise, and others are just downright funny and always bring a smile to my face through their pictures and captions! If you like what you see, make sure to check them out!

Such a cute design company with an even cuter mascot! Who could argue with a pupper with a dream?

Becca is my go-to Instagram, blog, and life inspiration. Her cute pics lead me to live my life with a what-would-becca-do mindsight!

Emma just started her DCP journey and I love living vicariously through her ridiculously adorable pictures!

I’ve never been to Disneyland, but this blue sky aesthetic has me ready to book a flight to California ASAP!

The life of a cast member, PLUS an amazingly beautiful feed? What more could a girl ask for! She also brand reps for amazing companies, and styles the Tees so well!

 

Activities

While being home might possibly be the most boring thing I’ve experienced in a while, I’ve been able to pick up a few hobbies to keep me busy. The first has been journaling. My blog has been an amazing way to express my thoughts, but after receiving a journal, I decided that it would be a great way to start writing down more private memories. Sometimes I write everyday, sometimes I skip a week. The great thing is that there are no rules and it’s perfect for me to vent to or expand on the smaller joys in life.

I also discovered my love for pen to paper contact, so with $40 in hand, I purchased the cutest stationary I could find, along with a variety of colored pens – so began my journey on the art of writing letters. Sure we have phones and stuff, but the joy of getting a letter addressed to you in the mail is one that is dying out, so I figured it would be a great way to stay in touch with my college friends this summer!

When I want to hop back into the 21st century, I grab my laptop and work on editing videos for my YouTube channel. I’m not very good at it yet, but practice makes perfect, and reliving all my memories from the spring semester is super fun to watch!

Food

Most call Taco Bell their guilty pleasure, or reserve it for late night cravings, but lately I’ve called it my second home. Yes, I’m brave to admit this, but something about the Spicy Potato Taco just makes me so happy. And the fact that it’s only $1 makes my wallet smile back at me. So what that I’ve been there every day this past week, I don’t have a problem…

Memories

Ahh, my top five memories from the month of May. This is totally going to be bittersweet.

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset5/2/17 The first memory that stands out to me is a sad one, and it was the day I moved out of my dorm in college and began my journey home to Pittsburgh. Although the ride home itself was a blast, it was sad to say goodbye to UCF and all of my friends there.

5/3/17 Returned home! I was reunited with my family and my puppy and I was so excited to see them. I was also so surprised with the renovation of my bedroom that I promise I will never be leaving until the end of summer.

5/16/17 Josh took me out on a lovely date to dinner followed by a visit to the local dog parks. It was a perfect substitute to our usual Petland dates back in Orlando. Afterward we relaxed in the park and watched the sunset, before returning home and binging Criminal Minds.

Processed with VSCO with s1 preset

5/17/17 Another date (k)night with Josh: and we celebrated eight months together. We headed downtown to the Pirates game and it brought us back to the great memories of heckling at the UCF Baseball games. It was a ton of fun hanging out in our city together and made me super excited for future dates this summer.

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset

5/23/17 A spontaneous concert night that you can read about here, and an amazing time catching up with friends. Mumford and Sons put on a helluva show and it was a great night to dance around in the rain.

So there ya have it, a bunch of things that really made me happy this past month! I hope I was successful in sharing the positive vibes, and if not, lie to me and pretend I was. Feel free to share some of the things that made you smile recently because I’m always looking for positive recommendations!

xoxo,

Leave a Reply

